real time web analytics
Report - - RAF West Raynham Airmen's Restaurant, Norfolk - February 2023 | Military Sites | 28DaysLater.co.uk

Report - RAF West Raynham Airmen's Restaurant, Norfolk - February 2023

Hide this ad by donating or subscribing !

dansgas1000

28DL Regular User
Regular User
Introduction
This was actually a bit of a failure day as I mainly wanted to revisit the Officer's Mess but we tried every single potential access point except for the roof and couldn’t get in, there’s some fairly fresh fencing around the rear of the site and despite climbing it there didn’t seem to be a way in after looking in every nook and cranny, the only part I didn’t check was on the roof! Anyway, I did manage to get into the Airmens Restaurant for the first time since 2014 and it is a lovely building, so I thought it would be worth sharing these shots as I’ve been sitting on them for a few months now, and hopefully when I next try the Officers Mess I can get in and can share those pics with you all. Visited with @JakeV50.

Information & History
RAF West Raynham was constructed between 1938 & 1939 and was used by the RAF Bomber Command during WW2. The Bomber Command was responsible for the bombing of Germany during the war and during its operating period between 1936 and 1968, it dropped over a million bombs. The base played a crucial role in carrying out bombing missions against enemy targets in mainland Europe. The base hosted a number of squadrons over the years operating various bomber aircraft, some of the notable ones included the Vickers Wellington and Avro Lancaster.

Vickers Wellington in flight (Source: Tangmere Museum)

vickers.jpg