real time web analytics
Report - - Aytoun Street Employment Exchange - Manchester - Nov 2013 | Other Sites | 28DaysLater.co.uk

Report - Aytoun Street Employment Exchange - Manchester - Nov 2013

Hide this ad by donating or subscribing !

Nickindroy

A Porky Prime Cut
Regular User
Employment Exchange, Aytoun St Manchester

PaBRfXe.jpg

"You'd better hurry up, the demo signs are up and the whole gaff is fenced off." "It's too late now", was the cry from some! After many years lying empty, Aytoun is finally getting knocked down to make way for a hotel.

zrY7Mft.jpg

It was suggested we go early doors at weekend, so as to not draw any attention to ourselves and have time for a mooch, before and if workers came on site. We needn't have worried on that score, didn't look like anyone had been inside at all. I'm a builder, you usually find that before any work is carried out, a temporary (possibly safety) brew table and chairs are installed. So, alls well, all the time in the world 'n' all that. Relax.

Our entrance was made canal side. The whole place is ripped back to to concrete/brick/plaster. Any internal stud walls are long gone
leaving it all open plan, so to speak, the ground floor particularly so.

The Manchester Pevsner says of this deserted art deco building on Aytoun Street, "the former Employment Exchange was designed 1936 by David Thompson for the Office of Works, but work was suspended until 1948 when E. H. Montegue Ebbs took over. Brick, thin and cheap." The wrought iron detail above the central door, shown below, suggests that the building may have opened in 1951

ZxsM1k3.jpg

ZLNvSW7.jpg

Q6fYlxE.jpg

We eventually got to the roof and naturally hung around for a while, maybe too long?

J6z2N3c.jpg

1deufdH.jpg

0iqt1cM.jpg

xlU7SgP.jpg

I went to the edge of the front elevation, to get a picture of the front of the courts over the road, looked down and saw a copper