real time web analytics
Report - - Barking Powerstation Control - East London - April/May 2015 | Industrial Sites | 28DaysLater.co.uk

Report - Barking Powerstation Control - East London - April/May 2015

Hide this ad by donating or subscribing !

ekto

28DL Full Member
28DL Full Member
The Explore:

probably around the fifth time ive done this place, ive been frequenting them both since 2007, back then im not even sure if there was a report that far back?

visited with pals, first attempt failed due to a van being on the site, we waited a bit they moved on we was in...

The History:

Wiki:

Barking A power station
Prior to the construction of Barking A Power Station, Barking Town Urban District Council operated its own small power station near its offices from 1897 until its closure in 1927.[1] In 1920, the County of London Electric Supply Company applied for permission to build a power station at Creekmouth in Barking capable of expansion to 600 MW.[2] The Barking A Station had 8 C.A. Parsons turbo-generators (4 x 40 MW and 4 X 20 MW) and 22 boilers, plus 2 dedicated reheat boilers. These were in two boiler houses, one being all chain grate boilers (6 B&W and 6 Yarrow) and the other being all pulverised fuel boilers (I.C.L.). Barking Power Station opened in 1925, and in 1927 it took over from the Barking Town Urban District Council station, providing a bulk electricity supply.[1] When completed, the A station was the largest power station in Britain to have been built as a complete station at one time. The Yarrow boilers were scrapped in the early 1950s, their capacity being replaced by steam from the B station via a steam line and suitable regulating equipment. The pulverised fuel boilers were converted to oil firing around 1964.