real time web analytics
Report - - Box Mine - September 2014 | Mines and Quarries | 28DaysLater.co.uk

Report - Box Mine - September 2014

Hide this ad by donating or subscribing !

Lord Oort

Fear is the little death
Regular User
THIS IS HOW NOT TO FIND THE CATHEDRAL!

Me and a mate decided to go down to Box Mine today and check it out and while I can say we had an epic fail trying to find the Cathedral we both had a bloody good time. As it's my first time in a proper Mine and a long time since my buddy was underground it was quite something to behold. I think we must of walked past the Cathedral a couple of times although I'm not entirely sure we were even in the right part.

We entered backdoor and climbed down in the chamber then around to the right to get to the first obviously hewn spot. Spent 10 minutes walking around that bit and then all the way down to the end and found the very small gap that gets you into the Mine proper (I guess) After that we couldn't make any sense of the map just followed some of the more obvious markers and saw quite a lot actually. Im sure we were on the right track in OXO 1 cos we walked past an arrow pointing ahead to cathedral and passed another one pointing back the other way some 30 or 40 meters ahead.

At that point we thought we'd got a tiny bit lost but in the end we had just gone down one passage we shouldn't of, we then realised that we were going to get seriously lost if we carried on so headed back to back door.

The weird thing is I've watched a couple of videos and it seems like cathedral is about five minutes from back door down some really large tunnels which are basically large all the way back. The way we went is most definitely not that way.

Even though it was an epic fail we both thoroughly enjoyed it and are planning on going back really soon hopefully this time with someone who actually knows what they're doing cos we couldn't read that map for shit!