Web
Analytics
Report - - Ceulan Woollen Mill Talybont Wales May 2014 | Industrial Sites | 28DaysLater.co.uk

Report - Ceulan Woollen Mill Talybont Wales May 2014


Jane Doe

28DL Full Member
28DL Full Member
Ceulan Woollen Mill operated from 1860. The building was later extended to the southwest and a 7.7m diameter breast-shot waterwheel was erected against the southwest gable, The wheel has an iron hub, which is marked 'J Edgar Dublin', with twelve wooden spokes and iron shrouds marked 'Ellis Foundry 1891'. The building has two storeys and an attic, and is constructed of split local rubble in a lime mortar, under a slate roof; there are fixed-light windows with segmental brick heads. The waterwheel powered the mill machinery and in around 1920 it also drove an electric generator. In 1923 a double Pelton wheel turbine was installed, by Edwards of Llanuwchllyn, on the north east gable to drive both the mill machinery and an electric generator and the waterwheel fell into disuse. The mill ceased working around 1955 and was abandoned in 1962. Insidethere is late C19 or early C20 machinery, carding engines, looms warping frame etc on ground floor, and two spinning mules on first floor. It was amazing to find all the machinery there and theres just so much to look at and photograph it was a real little gem of a place .
872289


872290


872291




872293


872294


872295


872296


872297


872298


872299


872300

872302


872303
 

Similar threads


Top