real time web analytics
Report - - Cooperative Building, London Road, Brighton, 01/2010 | Other Sites | 28DaysLater.co.uk

Report - Cooperative Building, London Road, Brighton, 01/2010

Hide this ad by donating or subscribing !

artek

28DL Member
28DL Member
Hi guys! I am an Interior Architecture graduate from Brighton University. Much of what we do is take the shell of old buildings and redesign the interior for different applications. My second year project building was the old Cooperative building on London Road in Brighton. I have been a follower of the forum for a couple of years now and have finally got round to posting my report.

01445.jpg

CO-OPERATIVE SOCIETY STORE : The largest building in London Road is the Brighton Co-operative Society store. In 1906 the 'Co-op' acquired no.96 and gradually took over the adjoining premises which were united into a single store in about 1919. The present store, designed by Bethell and Swannell, was opened on 12 September 1931 with four storeys and a 180-foot frontage relieved only by two giant, fluted Doric columns above the entrance. Now the largest department store in Brighton, it is rivalled in size only by Hanningtons; the Baker Street supermarket originally opened in 1962, and further additions in 1975 and 1980 have brought the total floor area to some 70,000 square feet.

The store reached the end of the road in February 2007 and closed. The last days of the store's existence saw staff selling off everything - stock, shelves, workers' lockers: the lot!

Closure had been on the cards since 2005 when the Co-operative Group made the decision to close the whole of its loss making department store business. Since then attempts to find a buyer for the store as a going concern have failed.

jg_10a_087.jpg