Web
Analytics
Report - - Eastry Asylum Chapel, Eastry Kent, May 2012 | Other Sites | 28DaysLater.co.uk

Report - Eastry Asylum Chapel, Eastry Kent, May 2012



silverainbow

Here today, Gone tomorrow
28DL Full Member
#1
Got home from work and was a lovely sunny afternoon, had a "tip off" that the old asylum chapel at Eastry was open, thought Id mount up on Urbex Bike and go take a look.

Bit of history about the site :)

A new Eastry Union workhouse was erected in 1835-6 to the west of the existing workhouse on Mill Lane. It was designed by William Spanton following Sir Francis Head's model courtyard plan which was also adopted by other Kent Unions such as Bridge, Cranbrook, Dartford, Dover, East Ashford, Malling, and Tonbridge. The new Eastry workhouse was designed to accommodate about 500 inmates.
The site was bought by Runnymead Homes and while most of it has been demolished some of the site still stands owing to the fact that its a listed building, Right on with some Pics !

DSC_0235.jpg


DSC_0249.jpg


DSC_0242.jpg


DSC_0230.jpg


DSC_0164.jpg


DSC_0156.jpg


DSC_0195.jpg


DSC_0200.jpg


DSC_0183.jpg


DSC_0225.jpg


DSC_0222.jpg


DSC_0218.jpg


Was a nice relaxed solo explore well worth a look !

:thumb