Web
Analytics
Hello from North Cornwall | New Members Introduction | 28DaysLater.co.uk

Hello from North Cornwall

Terminal Decline

28DL Regular User
Regular User
I've been exploring for over two years now and I've finally decided to start posting reports. I'm 18 and I will soon be going to uni in Plymouth. Most of the sites I have visited are in Cornwall but have traveled further afield to great places. I have a particular fascination with the china clay industry extensive remains which have been completely forgotten with other works closed more recently as Imerys moves its operations abroad.
I decided to make a map to show the sites I plan to visit and have got carried away over the past year, plotting nearly 6000 locations throughout Europe, mainly finding sites from Google maps- its become a bit of an addiction!

1535931560936.png

I've also decided to include 20 of my photos on this thread to give an idea of where I have been. Most of the photos are from the past year as my pictures are much better now that I have a Nikon D600 and learn't how to use it.

First off, I've gone with 15 of my favorites from Cornwall:

DBD_4740 2.jpg

The control room to a china clay refinery

DBD_3301 2.jpg

The remains of a horizontal steam winder used to take sand to the tips

DBD_3413 2.jpg

The winding drum from another steam winder, partly cut up for scrap

DBD_9043 2.jpg

The furnace doors to a pan kiln, used to dry the clay

DSC_6885 2.jpg

This building once housed two huge rotary dries, though there long removed

DBD_5260 2.jpg

one of the two buell dries at Par docks was partly demolished a number of years ago

DBD_3843 2.jpg

looking down into a clay pit showing two pump houses

DSC_8466 2.jpg

moving away from the china clay industry to a remarkably intact waterwheel once used to power farm machinery

DSC_8448 2.jpg

a former tin openwork. this was a challenge to get down to!

DBD_2735 2.jpg

a rather nice tunnel leading to a large quarry, now overgrown and boring