real time web analytics
Report - - Luster Sanitorium, Norway October 2017 | European and International Sites | 28DaysLater.co.uk

Report - Luster Sanitorium, Norway October 2017

Hide this ad by donating or subscribing !

SmellTheDecay

28DL Full Member
28DL Full Member
Hello,

This is my very first post here, yes i'm a newbie (please be kind). Although I've been an active urban explorer for many years now, I've decided to join in the wonderful community here. I had been to visit my partner in Norway and she told me about this place so decided to go for an explore. Sadly I didn't get to venture the entire site as an unfriendly Norwegian man shouted at us so we left. I plan on visiting again this year, but won't chose the middle of the day to explore.

I don't know a great deal about this place so had a little look on Wikipedia and there wasn't much information there either.....

In 1896, the board of St. Jørgens Hospital in Bergen decided to build a hospital for "poor corrosion in the rock of Bergen". Harastølen was opened on November 2, 1902 , under the name "Luster Sanatorium". Building costs were NOK 777,000 , which was a considerable sum at that time. At the opening the sanatorium had 96 beds. In 1924 , the capacity was extended to 120 beds, in 1950 to 150. The building is about 5000 m2

It is located in the mountainside, 500 meters above sea level, above Luster. One reason for the location was the favorable climate in the Lustrafjord . In addition, early warning of the importance of hydroelectric power , and in this regard, Luster sanatorium had one of the first private water turbines in Norway.