Web
Analytics
Report - - Merseyside Centre for the Deaf, Liverpool- July 2020 | Other Sites | 28DaysLater.co.uk

Report - Merseyside Centre for the Deaf, Liverpool- July 2020


fleet

28DL Full Member
28DL Full Member
The History: Built in 1887, the building was initially used as a chapel for the deaf community in Merseyside. The society which used the building was called the Liverpool Adult Deaf and Dumb Benevolent Society and was founded by George Healey, in order to make scriptures accessible for the deaf. Following its closure in 1986, it was used as a community centre for the Igbo community (one of the largest ethnic groups in Africa), before falling into a state of disrepair. As well as the chapel itself, the building also encompasses a variety of other rooms such as a men’s club, rooms for women to socialise and a lecture theatre.

The Explore: We stopped in at this place on a complete whim as we had some time to kill between some other explores and picking up a friend. Access was straightforward and although the place is falling apart, it is definitely worth having a look as the main upstairs church is fantastic. As previous reports have mentioned, there is a homeless person living there who must have been out when we were in (on a Saturday afternoon). Care must be taken with the floors and some of the staircases.

Pictures are taken on a Fujifilm x100s.

861311


861298


861308


861309


861297


861307


861291


861290


861295


861306


861310


861288


861289


861292


861293
 

Attachments


Top