real time web analytics
Question - - Mines & Quarries in SW England | Mines and Quarries | 28DaysLater.co.uk

Question - Mines & Quarries in SW England

Hide this ad by donating or subscribing !

bkexplorer

28DL Member
28DL Member
Hi everyone,

I’ve just recently joined on here and recently visited Browns Folly mine twice in the past week, I’m new to exploring but loved Browns mine, in our group we entered through Muddy Hole and explored for about 4 hours, we managed to find the well and the generator room with the stone wall, also the hole where I believe the crane used to be? What other good, easy enough spots are there inside? Also could anyone tell me what mines are still open to explore in the south west?

I’ve researched a bit and found that maybe Swan mine is still open and Bethel Quarry could still be open but Ridge Quarry is inaccessible now?

Finally, we went in Browns Folly mostly under equipped, what’s the best, good value exploring equipments should I be looking to purchase?

Any help at all is greatly appreciated!

Thanks, BK

DaveJ

28DL Full Member
28DL Full Member
Sweet mate i'm fairly new myself. Nice report on browns that where my exploring started. The stables are down there still 2 see. But as 4 other places loadsa report on here 4 local places. Do some research & online digging mate.

pirate

Rum Swigger
28DL Full Member
You don’t have to spend loads of money.

helmet..........can be bought off eBay,2nd hand Troll’s go for £10 or you can go flash and spend £60 on a Petzl..........if you’re really skint a builders helmet will do.

There’s a “torch buying thread on here” so I won’t go into it too much but take 2 torches with plenty of batteries and a candle and lighter if shit hits the fan.
You don’t need a 9million lumen torch for the majority of mines so don’t think bigger is always better..........as power will compromise run time

compass
Notepad and pencil

tell someone where you’re going and what time you intend to be back.