Web
Analytics
New explorer from Hampshire! | New Members Introduction | 28DaysLater.co.uk

New explorer from Hampshire!

ScruffyOtter

28DL Member
28DL Member
Hi everyone! :cool:
New explorer and a complete beginner here from northern Hampshire, close to Aldershot. Been wanting to get into exploration for a long time (Been reading 28 on and off for about a year) but it's taken me this long to pluck up the courage to sign up! :oops:

I've always had an interest in old and abandoned places, particularly industrial sites and those to do with transportation and communications. I absolutely love subterranea, though underground places and those without easy access/visit permissions can be a challenge for me for reasons I'll come to.

One of the things I'm hoping to achieve through exploration is breaking some rather bad programming that holds me back a lot (Disability, sheltered upbringing, 150% compliance with law, yadda yadda) and has made exploration impossible for me in practice, even if I've been wanting to get into it for over a decade. Think of Kryten from Red Dwarf and you'll have a rough idea of what I'm getting at.

I'm also hoping that exploration might help me to develop (scuse the pun) better photography skills. I'm a total beginner in this area too, and in all honesty I barely know how to handle a smartphone camera let alone anything more advanced - My usual approach is to take 100+ photos in the hope of getting a few good ones. At present I want to see if photography is something I can really get into with the equipment and software I already have before I go headlong into a full kit-up, given proper kit is pretty expensive and I'm a man of very limited resources.