real time web analytics
Report - - Sandsend & Kettleness Tunnels, August 2018 | Underground Sites | 28DaysLater.co.uk

Report - Sandsend & Kettleness Tunnels, August 2018

Hide this ad by donating or subscribing !

Idle Hands

28DL Full Member
28DL Full Member
Going Underground

I can’t say that underground stuff is my ideal choice for a solo excursion, but I was in the area looking for potential explores and this looked interesting. There hasn’t been a report posted for a few years, so I wasn’t sure it was still doable – or that it hadn’t fallen in to the sea by now even - but one summer’s day well in to an unusually dry few months I set out to find out in the hope that it wouldn’t be a mud bath down there.

My major concern was the talk of hydrogen sulphide sitting in pockets along the tunnels, as you'd expect in such places with low ventilation.
I’m no expert on this kind of thing but I have a friend with a PhD in plant biology so quickly dropped him a message with a few questions.

Soon enough Dr Science replied with a few words of encouragement:

Lucas.jpg

It wasn’t really what I wanted to hear but people have done it in the past and survived, so I figured there was only one way to find out what the state of play was…

Brief History

The two tunnels form part of the Whitby, Redcar & Middlesbrough Union Railway line, built between 1871 and 1883 and briefly halted when the original contractor went bust in 1874.
When the North Eastern Railway company took over construction the tunnels were favoured over the original plan to run the route along a rock shelf on the cliff edge.
There’s a short walk between the two through some pretty savage undergrowth and the only feasible option is to walk the route from the northern portal of the Kettleness Tunnel.

I've done a few railway tunnels in my time and they tend to either be a walk in, or be blocked up with a big hole smashed in one end to make for easy access.