Web
Analytics
Report - - ST Josephs RC Church, Wigan. March 2017. | Other Sites | 28DaysLater.co.uk

Report - ST Josephs RC Church, Wigan. March 2017.



Zvi Oduba

zvisss
28DL Full Member
#1
History
In October 1870, Father Henry J Lamon (see "St. Joseph's Clergy") was appointed head of the new mission that would soon become the Parish of St. Joseph, Wigan, and it was due to the untiring zeal and great energy of the new Rector that rapid progress was made.

The first service was held on 22nd January, 1871, in a small chapel that formerly belonged to the Primitive Methodist Body, in Caroline Street, but in a very short time the building was found to be too small for the increasing numbers of Catholics living in the surrounding Wallgate area.

Consequently, with the permission of the Right Reverend Doctor O'Reilly, Bishop of Liverpool, Father Lamon purchased some adjoining land to the chapel, at a cost of £500. The old Methodist chapel was then pulled down, and on the site was erected the first church of St. Joseph, which opened in April 1872. This new church was built to accommodate between 500 and 600 worshippers at a cost of £3,000 - a considerable sum at the time.

At a further cost of £5,000, through the support of his faithful parishioners, by 1874, Father Lamon had built the schools at St. Joseph's, which soon had an average attendance of over 800 scholars!

However, it soon became evident that the new church was totally inadequate for the requirements of the district, and steps were taken without delay for the erection of a more extensive building.

The design of the new St. Joseph's Church, the one that so many came to know and love, was entrusted to Mr. Goldie, of the firm of Messrs. Goldie and Child, of Kensington, London, and the contract, which amounted to about £6,000, to Mr. J. Wilson, of Wigan, with Mr. Weatherby acting as clerk of works. In 1877, the foundation stone was laid and blessed by the Right Rev. Dr. O'Reilly, and, together, with the adjoining Presbytery for the accommodation of three priests, the church was completed in 1878 and opened on Sunday, 30th June of that year.

There was planning permission granted in 2014 to convert the building into an indoor rock climbing centre although for unknown reasons this has never materialized.

UHmBAqI.jpg


37lzwxQ.jpg



Explore
Having never done a Church before this was a great find! Even though caked (6 inches please) in Pigeon mess and gutted out, its size and awe makes it a good explore. Only had 30 mins here as the train was soon, but a nice little mood around with some cool features remaining.

Pictures

eXItb4o.jpg


LFMrHhB.jpg


D0k4k0l.jpg


kUo9JzO.jpg


ZMpumoy.jpg


JZtilxu.jpg


8RWapLK.jpg


60MHfWD.jpg


Cyc6pnZ.jpg


oPRvtIz.jpg


U6eA5UX.jpg


 

Darentoot

28DL Full Member
28DL Full Member
#3
Been here , a lovely place , watch out for the drug users and needles.
Besides that wow what a building.
Great pics.
 

Similar threads