Web
Analytics
Report - - Trefor Quarry - N. Wales - July 2011 | Mines and Quarries | 28DaysLater.co.uk
  • Welcome to 28DaysLater.co.uk - 28DL - The UK Urban Exploring / Urban Exploration / Urbex Forums.

    Asylums and Hospitals, High Stuff, Industrial, Leisure Sites, Residential Sites, Military Sites, Mines and Quarries, ROC Posts, Theatres and Cinemas, Draining, Underground Sites, European and International Sites, Leads, Rumours and News, Kit, Clothing, Equipment, Photography and Video sections, plus Private & Local Groups and a lot more.

    Please feel free to browse this website as a guest. However, creating an account allows you to search, post replies, start new threads, use bookmarking, live chat, messaging and notification systems. Also, it removes some ads.

    Create an account | Login | Request new password

Report - Trefor Quarry - N. Wales - July 2011

Snake Oil

go in drains
Regular User
#1
The Trefor granite quarry (also known as the Yr Eifl quarry) opened in 1850. In 1855 the quarry applied to build a jetty on the coast to ship granite products. The pier was not built, but the application was renewed in 1867, the pier being built by 1870 and a railway was constructed connecting the quarry with the pier which was gradually replaced by road transport and was finally closed in 1960.

This derelict quarry building was built in 1923 and was the main loading point of the stone onto the narrow gauge railway that took it down to the pier.

The quarry is still occasionally active and Trefor granite is used to make curling stones.

A nice relaxed explore with the wife n kids in tow :D

01.jpg


02.jpg


03.jpg


04.jpg


05.jpg


06.jpg


07.jpg


08.jpg


09.jpg


10.jpg


11.jpg


12.jpg


13.jpg


14.jpg


15.jpg


16.jpg


looking down the incline towards Trefor village....

17.jpg


18.jpg


19.jpg


20.jpg


21.jpg


The quarry from the beach....

22.jpg


The loading pier.....

23.jpg


24.jpg


25.jpg
 

Attachments

Similar threads