real time web analytics
Report - - College of Art & Design, Barbourne, Worcester - Jan 2015 | Other Sites | 28DaysLater.co.uk

Report - College of Art & Design, Barbourne, Worcester - Jan 2015

Hide this ad by donating or subscribing !

captainwow

28DL Full Member
28DL Full Member
Site visited with non member on a depressingly grey January day.

This was a bit of a nostalgic one for me, as I studied here for two years after leaving school. To see it totally ripped apart was actually slightly sad, and I'm annoyed that I didn't know it'd closed and missed out on seeing the main part of it. Most of the classrooms, including the entire Health&Beauty department have been flattened, and the rest of it is being turned into a retirement home.
Bit of history (slightly adapted) from Wikipedia:
The site originally opened in 1929 as the third site of the Worcester Secondary School for Girls. In September 1945, it became the City of Worcester Grammar School for Girls. In 1962, it was moved across the city to the site of the current Worcester Sixth Form College. It merged with the School of Science and Art and became an Art and Design College, up until 1991 when the college changed its name to Worcester College of Technology, and the Barbourne College became the Art, Design and Sports department. It ran many courses including Media Production, Graphic Design, Photography, Make-up and Hair and Beauty. It stayed that way until it closed in 2014, when the college was moved to the old Russell and Dorrell building in the city centre. The college changed its name to the Heart of Worcestershire College after it merged with North East Worcestershire College in August 2014.

Apologies for the quality of some of the shots. My battery died as we got in there, so these are a mixture between the non member's camera and some shots from my phone.

Quick shot of the striking facade as it was in better times:
5012collegebuildingbarbourne_zps68ba0d5b.jpg

And how it looks now: