Leri Mills was one of Ceredigionâ€™s first woolen mills. It was built from around 1809 on the site of a former (pre-Elizabethan) lead smelting works.
The mill consisted of several buildings â€“ 2 tweed mills, a spinning and carding shed, a wool / washing shed, a dye shed and a craft shop.
Initially the tweed was sold locally to farmers and miners nut for at least the last thirty years of operation the mill was open to the public,
with demonstrations of all of the processes on view, and most importantly a shop that sold tweed,
garthen (a tapestry used as a bed covering), rugs and postcards.
The rise of foreign travel in the late seventies led to a fairly rapid decline in business (sic).
The mill finally stopped trading in April 1981 and was initially put on the market for Â£150,000.
A buyer wasnâ€™t found and the mill remains in the family that ran it from at least 1950.
Most of the buildings are still standing â€“ just, with most of the equipment still in situ.
As we were coming out of top mill we met the owner who, after being pissed off with us â€œtrespassersâ€
for about 20 seconds, invited us in for a much needed coffee and a chat, supplied some of the history
above and also the archive photos included below. (Copyright Leri Mills)
Visited with Eeka and a non-member.
Tom James and Will Richards at the Carding set in 1935
The wheel at top mill, just visible beneath the ivy
And the same wheel in 1930
The leat for top mill runs between the buildings
Bill Morgan at Llofft Mule 1958
And the same room now.