real time web analytics
Which 35mm film would you recommend? | Photography and Video Forum | 28DaysLater.co.uk

Which 35mm film would you recommend?

Hide this ad by donating or subscribing !

Verti

28DL Full Member
28DL Full Member
As I'm new to photography I've picked up 2 rolls each of Kentmere Pan 100 / Pan 200 for B&W and 2 rolls of Kodak Ultramax 400 to try some colour snaps. I selected these based on the assumption that I would probably fuck up along the way, and ruining a roll of film that costs £6 will sting less than some of the more expensive varieties that the bods on utube and blogs rave about.

Web searching gives all kinds of results on which film is "best" or "best on a budget" so for those of you that explore and take photos using film what do you use and why?

wormster

28DL Full Member
28DL Full Member
Ilford FP4 for black and white, and, Fugi chrome for colour. I always felt that the Fugi film gave better colour density over Kodak colour film of the same ASA.

Plus the Ilford FP4 you can "bump" from say 100asa out to1600asa quite easily for really dark shots.

Hope this helps somewhat

Mikeymutt🐶

28DL Regular User
Regular User
Film is definitely making a massive come back. It’s something I would like to try, but like you say the price of film is mental now. So I have no experience in film apart from my film camera when I was a kid. I have a Fuji camera and you can get Fuji film recipes which give you film simulations of all the main film makes. You just have to adjust all the settings in the camera from the recipe. Had my first go with it just recently, but bet it’s still not the same as film.

Last edited:

Bugsuperstar

Irresponsible & Reckless
Regular User
I personally use Kodak ultramax 400 or Fuji Superia X-tra 400 however I do love to shoot with AGFA Vista 200 too although I’ve found it can be quite grainy in lower light situations.

I rarely use B&W but would recommend FP4.

Just have a play and find what you personally like.

wormster