real time web analytics
Report - - (Courage) Berkshire Brewery, Reading - October 2010 | Industrial Sites | 28DaysLater.co.uk

Report - (Courage) Berkshire Brewery, Reading - October 2010

Hide this ad by donating or subscribing !

Adders

living in a cold world
Regular User
Firstly, many thanks to Ali Explores on this. I owe you a Fosters/John Smiths/Kronenburg.

These photos were taken over 2 visits, with DHL, The Engineer, God and a non-member. 2 highly-enjoyable visits with good people, it's just a shame there were no cans left around for us.

Now, I'm no expert in business studies, but I'm going to go out on a whim here and say that the main reason for this plant possibly closing, is that they didn't produce any cider.

Let's look at this conclusive evidence.

Bulmers Cider Mill, Hereford - Open
Thatchers Cider, Sandford - Open
Dick Willows Cider Farm, Box - Open
Berkshire brewery, Reading - Closed

Here's some back and forth history on the company who ran the brewery up until April of this year.

Courage & Co Ltd was started by John Courage at the Anchor Brewhouse in Horselydown, Bermondsey in 1787. It became Courage & Donaldson in 1797. By 1888, it had been registered simply as 'Courage'. In 1955, the company merged with Barclay, Perkins & Co Ltd (who were located at the nearby Anchor Brewery) to become Courage, Barclay & Co Ltd. Only five years later, another merger with the Reading based Simonds' Brewery led to the name changing to Courage, Barclay, Simonds & Co Ltd. This was simplified to Courage Ltd in October 1970 and the company was taken over by the Imperial Tobacco Group Ltd two years later.