Web
Analytics
Report - - Merseyside Deaf Institute, Liverpool - October 2020 | Other Sites | 28DaysLater.co.uk

Report - Merseyside Deaf Institute, Liverpool - October 2020


MK83

28DL Full Member
28DL Full Member
This place has been done loads of times on here but we liked the look of the chapel so decided to check it out.

History - In May 1864 the Liverpool Adult Deaf and Dumb Benevolent Society was established. It was founded by George Healey, a Deaf man. He set up the Society initially to give Deaf People equal access to the Scriptures. They started with just one room in the School for the Deaf and Dumb in Oxford Street. In 1877 the Society started a building fund. The Mayor of Liverpool then took an interest in the fund and through him her Majesty Queen Victoria made a donation of £5. In 1886 the committee got a lease from Lord Sefton for the land of Princess Avenue and Parkway. This lease was given for 2000 years.
On 16th May 1887 H.R.H Princess Louise formally opened the Institute. The building at Park Way also had the women’s room where women could go to socialise. The lecture hall was used for lectures, meetings, dances and social gatherings. The chapel in the building was used for services every Sunday at 11am and 6.30pm. In May 1931 the Society opened the George Healey memorial hall. This would be used as a men’s club where men could play snooker, chess, cards and other activities.

Explore - Access was pretty much wide open. As others have said there seems to be people living in the modern parts of the building. Absolutely loved the stained glass and the decay in this place.



879231


879232


879233


879234


879235


879236


879237


879238


879239


879240


879241


879242


879243


879244


879245


879246


879247


879249
 

Top