real time web analytics
Report - - South East Essex College (SEEC) Carnarvon Road - Southend July 2014. | Other Sites | 28DaysLater.co.uk

Report - South East Essex College (SEEC) Carnarvon Road - Southend July 2014.

Hide this ad by donating or subscribing !

UrbanDuck

Authorised Trespasser
28DL Full Member
Background

The Carnarvon Road site of the South East Essex College was the main campus for students before it closed in 2004, replaced by a newer and more modern building located on Luker Road, Southend.

I studied at the college between 1997-1999 with my studies split between Carnarvon Road and the (now demolished) London Road site. I remember it being a pleasant place to work, located not far from the town centre and with amazing views.

The site remains empty whilst a decision is made on its future. Plans for redevelopment have been met by resistance over the years from local residents, including the proposal to turn into flats HERE.

It certainly appears builders are active within the site, as equipment is present inside although it’s not clear what they are actually doing.

The Visit

Firstly, acknowledgement to Boomstick84 who has visited the building previously and joined me on this trip – his first report can be found Here.

Armed with previous intel of the site, we confidently made our way to the entry point, only to find the builders had sealed it up. We continued to search for a way in (regrettably disturbing the sleep of a local ‘resident’ in the process) and were almost at the point of giving up when we found what we were looking for. We were in!!

This is a massive site with 5 floors to explore plus a basement (which annoyingly took forever to find but was worth a look) - unfortunately we couldn’t get on the roof this time round. We headed straight up to the 5th floor (where I studied) then systematically worked our way down.